Reviews

Trip Advisor

    star rating  Spent two nights here in late July 2021 with our dog. Lovely spacious room, fairly easy (~20 min) walk down to the old town and a short walk down to... read more

    685barnabyf
    7/30/2021

    star rating  We spent 4 nights at the Doghouse in Margate and it was picture perfect! The B&B is beautifully done up with a beautiful bathroom and good quality amenities. The room... read more

    sarahaD3884VP
    7/06/2021

    star rating  Our stay in the Doghouse Margate in June 2021 was brilliant. The house itself is beautifully decorated and presented, with comfortable beds for both us and for our dog. Above... read more

    thomascJ9528MS
    6/16/2021

    star rating  We have just spent the weekend at the Doghouse in Margate and we could not have been happier with this accommodation. Our room was gorgeous and the breakfast (served in... read more

    Xacbert
    6/06/2021

    star rating  Mel, Fe and Thierry were the perfect hosts! We received a super warm welcome even though we arrived early to what is such a beautiful and peaceful home. Running a... read more

    N927XBalberth
    9/25/2020

Google

    5 star review  The breakfast was dreamy. Lush pancakes, lovely fry up with choice of veggie option, bagels (!!!) Honestly my partner and I woke up feeling like a king and queen after two flawless nights of sleep. Fe and Mel are lovely, warm hosts who are obviously dedicated to ensuring you have the best, most luxurious experience of home away from home. And when I left a jacket behind, Melissa called and emailed promptly so that I was able to return and pick it up. Woo! Thank you Melissa and Fe. Leo and I will be reminiscing of our stay for a long time xx

    thumb Serena Ferrari
    8/02/2021

    5 star review  I had such a lovely stay at Doghouse Margate - I stayed in the Thea room and was obsessed with the freestanding bath! The room and en-suite were gorgeous; it’s clear Fe and Mel have put a lot of thought into the little things, like incredible-smelling bath salts in the bathroom and chocolate truffles with breakfast. The food was delicious and it was such a treat to have it delivered to my room. The bed was really comfortable and I appreciated the TV in the room so I could catch up with the Olympics. The house is just up the street from the Walpole Tidal Pool, and there are great coffee spots (like Cliffs) a short walk away. I had such a relaxing few days and I just wish I had a dog to bring with me! Thank you Mel and Fe for a great trip.

    thumb Kate Woodruff
    8/01/2021

    5 star review  The Doghouse Margaret is super stylish, in an incredible location (short walk to the sandy beach, restaurants, open lido) and spotless! The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had at a B&B. The pancakes and fruit reminded me of Denny's diner in the states 🙂 The hosts and their sweet dog made myself and my guest feel really very welcomed. The room was cozy, bed very comfortable and shower was powerful. The lounge area felt like a home away from home. What I especially liked was the little touches like the noticeboard with the top10 current things to do in Margate, dog sitting and the dog treats my little pooch gobbled up! I would highly recommend and cannot wait to stay here again!

    thumb Raman Hutchinson
    7/19/2021

    5 star review  We love it here! Great breakfast, great location and great hosts! The bagels in particular were spot on and we were given such a warm welcome. Our room was clean and spacious, perfect for a weekend away to recharge. Will definitely be visiting again soon. Thank you 😊

    thumb Tanwen Batchelor
    7/13/2021

    5 star review  5 stars are not enough- our stay with Fe and Mel was fantastic. They are the most welcoming hosts I have ever experienced. The room was immaculate. The breakfast was lovely and served to our room - what a treat!! And the dressing gowns ( oh my gosh) they were the softest ever - I’ve already booked to return. Thank you so much Fe and Mel for making us feel so special.

    thumb Elisha Brett
    7/13/2021

    5 star review  Beautiful rooms and hosts! A lot of thought and care has clearly went in to every room here! Love the board with local recommendations for everything from restaurants to things to do during your stay. Highly recommend.

    thumb Andy Travers
    7/13/2021

    5 star review  Such a beautiful place to stay. First class experience from start to finish. All the staff were so friendly and the quality of room and experience were excellent. Great value and would recommend.

    thumb Jenny Wilde
    7/13/2021

    5 star review  Travelled to Margate for a few days away and loved that the Doghouse is queer-owned and run. Fe and Mel are both so wonderful and the whole place is beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and they made everything so easy. Location is amazing - not too far away from the main areas of Margate and just a couple of mins walk to get to a lovely quiet part of the beach. Will definitely be back and recommending to friends!

    thumb Matthew Riley
    7/12/2021

    5 star review  Stunning B&B! We had a lovely weekend stay with our toy poodle. The room was beautify, breakfast was delicious and only a short walk to the beach. Made our first trip to Margate extra special!

    thumb Charlene Brennan
    7/11/2021

    5 star review  We had the most wonderful stay in Margate. Lovely room with a delicious breakfast (coeliac and gluten free friendly). Excellent location for exploring the area. Would come back again! Fabulous hosts that made you feel at home.

    thumb Beatrice Shaw
    7/08/2021

    5 star review  There simply aren’t enough superlatives to describe our weekend at the Doghouse! Our room was beautiful, modern and comfortable with everything we needed already thought of, and our Shiba Inu was treated like a king; from breakfast in a memory foam bed to personalised treats on arrival. Our breakfasts were similarly delicious! Mel and Fe are the best hosts I’ve ever experienced - unobtrusive but incredibly helpful, friendly and genuine, and arranged a lovely welcome for us on my partner’s birthday. They even kindly let us check out a little later so we could shower after one last swim in the sea. It was great to be located a little out of town to switch off and relax, but super close to a dog friendly beach - perfect for us to stroll into the centre to eat in the evenings. Margate is SO dog friendly. We’ll be back and wouldn’t dream of staying anywhere but the Doghouse.

    thumb Emily Deaman
    6/14/2021

    5 star review  Such a lovely stay. Beautiful well thought out rooms and AMAZING breakfasts- would really recomend. Hosts Fe and Mel were also super lovely and chilled Izzy & Conrad

    thumb Izzy Macleod
    6/07/2021

    5 star review  We have just spent the weekend at the Doghouse in Margate and we could not have been happier with this accommodation. Our room was gorgeous and the breakfast (served in the room in the morning) was delicious. The owners are really nice and friendly and made us feel at home. And they let us check out one hour later so we could enjoy the sunny day at the beach.

    thumb Diego León
    6/06/2021

    5 star review  We had the best time at Doghouse - super friendly owners, gorgeous rooms and tasty breakfast (even for the dog 😊). We’ll definitely be coming back!

    thumb Ruby Mason
    5/23/2021

    5 star review  We had the most wonderful two-night stay here with our three dogs. It really was like a home away from home. Fe, Mel and Thierry made us feel welcome from the get go, from the delicious breakfasts (for our dogs too) to the personalised dog biscuits. The bedrooms and whole house has been furnished to perfection. You can tell they have spent a lot of time thinking about their guests' needs. We will be shouting about the wonders of this place from the rooftops and are already looking forward to our next trip here.

    thumb Meera Shah
    9/11/2020

Air BnB

      We’ve just stayed over the August Bank holiday and couldn’t have wanted for a better spot!

    Coming from London we wanted somewhere dog friendly, peaceful, within walking distance to the sea and restaurants, the Dog House in Margate is all this and more!

    The property is beautifully decorated, the beds and linens are divine and the breakfasts are AMAZING! Our Pomeranians loved their quarter English breakfasts too! We stayed in the Bailey room and loved it!

    Mel & Fe are the perfect hosts and I would return in a heartbeat!

    thumb James
    9/01/2020

      We had such a great weekend at the Dog House. The house is beautiful and made our weekend really special. The breakfast was lovely too - we will definitely be back!

    thumb Elliot
    8/23/2020

      Lovely B&B, we enjoyed our stay in this awesome place. Excellent hosts, beautiful place and delicious breakfast and treats for our pug Emma. Hope to come again soon!

    thumb Rüdiger Rodrigo
    8/16/2020

      We had a wonderful stay, the room is beautiful and the breakfasts amazing

    thumb Sarah
    8/09/2020